Skip navigation

New Virginia Majority Announces Second Round of Endorsements

New Virginia Majority
August 23, 2021

Richmond, VA -Today, New Virginia Majority announced a second round of endorsements for the 2021 electoral cycle, including House Speaker Eileen Filler-Corn (House District 41), Del. Candi King (House District 2), Del. Wendy Gooditis (House District 10), Del. Danica Roem (House District 13), Del. Elizabeth Guzman (House District 31), Del. Mark Sickles (House District 43), Del. Paul Krizek (House District 44), Del. Lashrecse Aird (House District 63), Del. Jeff Bourne (House District 71), Del. Schuyler VanValkenburg (House District 72), Del. Jay Jones (House District 89), Del. Mike Mullin (House District 93), and Del. Shelly Simonds (House District 94) as they seek reelection in the House of Delegates.

We have made generational progress in Virginia these past several years not only because Black and brown voters have turned out in record numbers, but because they have also organized around issues that most directly impact their lives. As a result, we can see the progress that can be made when working-class communities of color come together, organize and vote. In order to continue our transformational progress, it is imperative that we elect candidates who have a history of engaging with our communities. 

“Every single Virginia voter has the potential to make a tremendous difference in Virginia’s future, and New Virginia Majority will ensure they’re ready to cast their votes toward equity and progress,” said Maya Castillo, political director of New Virginia Majority.

This year, New Virginia Majority plans on investing $3.2 million on direct voter outreach, mobilizing and education for Black, Latinx and AAPI voters, to ensure their voices and votes are counted. 

"New Virginia Majority's support for additional candidates is strongly tied to our commitment to mobilize our communities and electing leaders who are committed to living in a just Virginia," said Tram Nguyen, co-executive director of New Virginia Majority.

Earlier this year, NVM endorsed Terry McAuliffe for governor, Hala Ayala for lieutenant governor, Mark Herring for attorney general, Del. Alex Askew (House District 85), Del, Dan Helmer (House District 40), Del. Rodney Willett (House District 73), Del. Kelly Convirs Fowler (House District 21), and Del. Kathy Tran (House District 42), as well as several candidates seeking to serve in the House of Delegates for the first time, including Michelle Maldonado (House District 50), Briana Sewell (House District 51), Katie Sponsler (House District 66), and Debra Gardner (House District 27) for House of Delegates.

We look forward to working to get our endorsed candidates elected and will continue to work with other organizations to ensure a more just Virginia for all of us.


New Virginia Majority builds power in working-class communities of color, in immigrant communities, among LGBTQ people, women, youth, and progressives across the Commonwealth. We organize for racial and economic justice through large-scale political education, mobilization and advocacy around dozens of issues. We fight for a Virginia that is just, democratic and environmentally sustainable. For more information, visit our website and follow us on Twitter and Facebook at @NewVAMajority.