Skip navigation

New Virginia Majority Announces Alexandria Slate of Endorsements

May 9, 2024
Contact: Debra Freeman, [email protected], 757-452-1143


New Virginia Majority Announces Alexandria Slate of Endorsements

Today, New Virginia Majority (NVM) announced endorsements for the 2024 Alexandria  mayoral and city council races. 

Endorsements include Alyia Gaskins for mayor, and Kirk McPike, Canek Aguirre, Kevin Harris, and Sarah Bagley. 

"This year's proposed arena deal brought to light the urgency to address important issues like affordable housing, public transportation options, and overall quality of life for Alexandrians. We're proud to endorse a slate of candidates who will keep our communities at the forefront of these conversations, and continue fighting to make Alexandria a welcoming place for all to thrive," said Sakina Bennett, NVM political director.

During this election cycle, NVM plans on knocking on over 10,000 doors to mobilize and educate Black, Latinx and AAPI voters and to ensure their voices and votes are counted. 

“These candidates represent the best in Alexandria, and we have the opportunity to elect the first Black woman mayor in the city, who has a combination of on the job experience, life experience, and education to make the city better for all residents. We look forward to supporting all the candidates in the upcoming weeks,” said Jon Liss, NVM co-executive director. 

We look forward to working to get our endorsed candidates elected, and will work with other organizations to ensure a more just Virginia for all of us.


New Virginia Majority builds power in working-class communities of color, in immigrant communities, among LGBTQ people, women, youth, and progressives across the Commonwealth. We organize for racial and economic justice through large-scale political education, mobilization and advocacy around dozens of issues. We fight for a Virginia that is just, democratic and environmentally sustainable. For more information, visit our website and follow us on Twitter and Facebook at @NewVAMajority.